What's New with the Chesapeake Watershed CESU

CESU and LTER to Host Federal Agency Virtual Career Forum

From our partners at the CESU National Network:

The CESU and Long-Term Ecological Research (LTER) Networks are partnering to provide a federal agency career forum to graduate students on Wednesday, May 22nd from 3:00-5:00 EST/12:00-2:00 PST where students can meet federal scientists working across the United States. Attendees will learn about federal agency career paths, work challenges and benefits, ‘a day in their life,’ and advice agency members wish they would have known as early career scientists.

Through the LTER Community Call series, a “watch party” of prerecorded interviews with 15 federal scientists will start at Noon PT (3 pm ET), with a full panel discussion beginning at 1 pm PT (4 pm ET). After a brief interview with a federal careers coach, the panelists will spend the second hour of the forum in discussion with and answering questions from the attendees. Prerecorded interviews will also be available for asynchronous viewing online, starting in early May on this webpage or the LTER Network YouTube channel.

Preparing to enter the work force after completing a graduate degree, and building a fulfilling and successful career outside of academia can be daunting and full of uncertainty. There is no ‘one path fits all’ that will lead to your career goals, but one of the best ways to prepare is to learn from others’ experiences. Bring your questions to the forum, and join in the lively discussion.

Register here to receive a Zoom link for the forum, and please share this opportunity with anyone who may be interested.

If you have any questions before the event, please contact Paige Kleindl at pklei007@fiu.edu.

CESU-LTER Federal Career Forum Flyer